top of page

Nataliya Gumenyuk, Sevgil Musayeva, Olga Rudenko have been awarded the Hans-Joachim Friedrichs Prize

Updated: Nov 20, 2023

The Chief Editors of the Public Interest Journalism Laboratory, Ukrainska Pravda, and Kyiv Independent have been recognized as representatives of all those who carry out professional journalism work in exceptionally challenging and dangerous conditions. They possess knowledge about the country, its people, and its political connections, providing an indispensable foundation for the efforts of foreign correspondents.

The prize is presented by a distinguished group of leading German television journalists, reporters, anchors, and editors since 1995 in memory of Hans Joachim Friedrichs, the first prominent "anchorman" on German television. Each year, journalists receive this award for their high degree of professionalism in television journalism.

"Sometimes a special award is given to journalists who have made an extraordinary contribution to our work and our understanding of the world. For instance, in 2019, one of the awards was presented to Emily Maitlis of the BBC. This year, association members voted to award such an honor to the three of you to acknowledge the exceptional contribution you and your news outlets provide to your fellow citizens and international media in reporting on the Ukraine and Russia's war of aggression," said Claus Kleber, laureate of the Hans-Joachim Friedrichs Prize in 2010 and a committee member.


bottom of page